

## House of Delegates Meeting Minutes

Saturday, March 9, 2024 Monday, March 11, 2024

Wayne Saltsman, MD, PhD, CMD, Chair of the House of Delegates called the Saturday, March 9, 2024, session to order at 11:30am.

Suzanne Gillespie, MD, RD, CMD, presented the report of the Nominating Committee including the slate of officers for nomination.

<u>Position</u> <u>Nominees</u>

Vice President: Leslie Eber, MD, CMD - Colorado

Victoria Walker, MD, FAAFP, CMD – South Dakota

Secretary: Asif Merchant, MD, FACP, CPE, CMD – Massachusetts

Dallas Nelson, MD, FACP, CMD -New York

**Chair, House of**Christian Bergman, MD, CMD – Virginia **Delegates**Angela Sanford, MD, CMD - Missouri

, ,

**House of Delegates** Elizabeth Galik, PhD, CRNP – Maryland **Representative** Janice Simen, EdD, PharmD - California

State Presidents Council Monica Ott, MD, CMD- Indiana Representative Waqar Saleem, MD, CMD- Kentucky

There were no nominations from the floor. The Nominating Chair declared nominations closed.

Candidates were given five minutes each for speeches.

Dr. Saltsman discussed the importance of reading all the resolutions prior to Monday's meeting as well as making changes to delegates. He also noted that online voting for the delegates was opening following the Saturday meeting and staying open until 11:00am ET on Monday, March 11, 2024.

The House recessed at 12:30pm CT to reconvene on Monday, March 11, 2023.

The Chair reconvened the meeting at 3:30pm\_on Monday, March 11, 2024. There were 120 delegates seated and a quorum of 80 present throughout the meeting.

The elections for Board Members, positions previously delineated, were carried out by online voting. The online voting asked for each delegate's name to ensure only one vote per delegate. The Nominating Committee Chair, Dr. Gillespie, reviewed the data from the online voting and certified the election results.

## **Election Results**

The Secretary, Dr. Gillespie, announced the results of the election. The House elected:

- Vice President: Leslie Eber, MD, CMD Colorado
- Secretary: Dallas Nelson, MD, FACP, CMD -New York
- Chair, House of Delegates: Christian Bergman, MD, CMD Virginia
- House of Delegates Representative: Elizabeth Galik, PhD, CRNP Maryland
- State Presidents Council Representative: Monica Ott, MD, CMD- Indiana

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the 2023 House of Delegates meeting were then accepted.

The Chair reported on the status of the 2023 resolutions. The official report on the resolutions is located on the House of Delegates website at paltc.org/hod.

## **Bylaws and Resolutions**

Each resolution was read to the House by the chapter or member who submitted the resolution. The following are the results of each resolution. The Bylaws were presented by Dr. Little on behalf of the Board of Directors.

Resolution No.	Title	Submitted By	Results
	Revisions include: Article I-Changing the name of the organization to "Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medical Association," hereinafter referred to as PALTMed.  Article VI-Official duties of Board members.	AMDA Board of Directors	Passed: Article I Passed by Voice Vote  Article VI Passed by Voice Vote
A24	Update the AMDA 1997 Position Statement on Care at the End of Life that Opposes Any Physician Involvement in Medical Aid in Dying	CMDA-The Colorado Society for PALTC, CALTCM-California Association of Long Term Care Medicine	Passed by voice vote as amended
B24	Tele-Presenter Fee for PALTC Telemedicine Visits	Telehealth Subcommittee, New York Society for Post- Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine	Passed by voice vote as amended

	·	•	
C24	Education and Training on the Evidence-Based Diagnosis and Clinical Care of Opioid Use Disorders in Skilled Nursing Facilities	Tennessee Association of Long Term Care Physicians, Illinois Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine	Passed by Voice Vote
D24	Expand Access to Skilled Nursing Facility Services for Patients with Opioid use disorder (OUD)	Tennessee Association of Long Term Care Physicians, Illinois Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine	Passed by Voice Vote
E24	Real-Time Bidirectional Communications Between Venues of Care	Michigan Medical Directors Association, The Ohio Society for Post-Acute and Long- Term Care Medicine	Referred to the Board by voice vote
F24	Clinician's Role and Impact in Eliminating Health Care Disparity and Inequity for Early Detection of Stage I Pressure Injury and Depp Tissue Pressure Injury Among People with Dark Skin Tones	Mid-Atlantic Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine, The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee	Passed by Voice Vote

Recognitions and grateful acknowledgements were presented to the retiring Society Board Members:

Suzanne Gillespie, MD, RD, CMD, Immediate Past President
Milta Little, DO, CMD, President
Leslie Eber, MD, CMD, Secretary
Wayne Saltsman, MD, PhD, CMD, Chair, House of Delegates (Two terms)
Barbara Resnick, PhD, CRNP, House of Delegates Representative
Diane Sanders-Cepeda, DO, CMD, State President's Council Representative

There being no further new business, the Monday, March 11th session was adjourned at 5:30pm